"snake oil" exact phrase
votes:4 posts with 4+ votes
created:<1w created < 1 week ago
post_type:xxxx type of post
Search help
Notifications
Mark all as read See all your notifications »
Q&A

Welcome to Software Development on Codidact!

Will you help us build our independent community of developers helping developers? We're small and trying to grow. We welcome questions about all aspects of software development, from design to code to QA and more. Got questions? Got answers? Got code you'd like someone to review? Please join us.

Comments on What is the meaning of "short circuit" operators?

What is the meaning of "short circuit" operators?

+6
−0

When reading about various operators used by programming languages, the term "short circuit behavior" is often used. For example in this C code:

int a = 0;
a && b++

Someone explained that b++ is never executed because the logical AND operator "short circuits". What do they even mean with this?

Assuming I'm a layman at electronics (but not necessarily at programming), the association I get when hearing "short circuit" is something like connecting + directly to - on a battery, resulting in a spectacular failure such as cables burning up. And that doesn't seem like something I would want to happen to my program...

Why is it called "short circuit behavior"? What's the analogy and how is it helpful in understanding how certain operators work?

History
Why does this post require moderator attention?
You might want to add some details to your flag.
Why should this post be closed?

1 comment thread

Cables don't blow up from a short (5 comments)
Cables don't blow up from a short
matthewsnyder‭ wrote 8 months ago